1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Good quality 'box for my office on the cheap?

Discussion in 'Chat Area' started by kitchen10, Jan 21, 2017.

1. kitchen10

kitchen10 Active Member

Hello all,

This is my first thread in the boombox section (and also my first on the new platform too). For god knows how many years I've used my old Hitachi TRK-7100E as my source of 'background music' while I work, but it has now got to the point where it needs replacing - the cassette deck is dead, the MW and SW bands have stopped receiving, and just to top it off the FM rod antenna has broken, rendering it useless in my area (rubbish reception).

So, my question is: can you recommend a fitting replacement for my beloved Hitachi?

My requirements are:
    • Cheap: sub-£30 mark preferably (I can possibly go a tad over that, but I am a starving student after all!)
    • Good FM selectivity and sensitivity
    • FM stereo capability
    • Sound quality comparable to my old Hitachi (I'm not expecting earth-shattering bass in this price category!)
    I would also like these features, but they are not requirements:
    • Mains power option (in the form of direct mains in or DC jack)
    • Cassette deck (not strictly necessary as I have a decent FM transmitter which I can hook up to my Sony TC-K555)
    • Some form of auxiliary input (yet again, not strictly necessary because of the FM transmitter, but desirable nonetheless)
    • MW/AM reception
    I'm not really too fussed about SW or LW reception or fancy design features - reliability and reception capabilities are the most important thing to me. I appreciate that 'boxes are a very personal thing, in that different people look for different things in a box, but I value all opinions.

If you have a suitable 'box that you no longer need/use, I'm sure we can work something out!

Thanks,
    Henry :)

2. Longman

Longman Well-Known Member S2G Supporter