1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my Hitachi Boombox 3D collection so far ....

Discussion in 'Gallery' started by mankamaz, Dec 3, 2016.

1. mankamaz

mankamaz Administrator Staff Member

Originally posted by:
    BOOMBOXTAFF

I know you guys are not big fans of these boxes, but for me some of them hold memories of the 80's. I knew a few people who had them, the 3D7, 3D8 and 3D80 - the 3D8 in particular as i worked in a factory from 88-90 and the 3D8 was the box we listened to everyday in work, whether a Cassette or Radio.

I want to collect the whole series and have a way to go yet, but trying to get mint examples and every function on the box working. I am also trying to get them all boxed with instructions which is going to be difficult.

I've only been collecting since May 2015, and the first box i got was the 3D80.

I was lucky to buy Northerner's 3d7 - (Thank You Simon). Boxed with instructions and like new, and that really started me off wanting to get them all boxed. I have since managed to get some more.... anyway this is what i have so far. I wanted to take a group shot but was afraid it might rain today as there was cloud above so didn't want to take the risk. Will do that another day. Might have a few more by then hopefully.

Finally got some group shots and now have a NOS CX-W400

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Starting with the 3D7

This is the 1st 3D that Hitachi Made. It wasn't called a 3D7 but a TRK 7620 to start with and later became the 3D7. The quality build is excellent on this unit and has a good sound. Not as powerful as the 3D8, 3D80 or 3D88, but the 5 band graphic equalizer gives you great control over the sound, and to my ears has a great sound for what it is. There is also a Mark II version of this box, exactly the same but upgraded graphics and badged mark II

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

3D8