1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony TPS-L2 Help

Discussion in 'Tech talk' started by mackle89, Jan 17, 2017.

1. mackle89

mackle89 New Member

Hello, first post!
    I recently picked up a Sony TPS-L2 Walkman in great condition and I'd really like to try and get it running. The light turns on when I press play, and I can hear static when I plug headphones in the jack, but the motor does not turn (I was planning on replacing the belts anyways so I opened up the back to check and sure enough the motor doesn't turn). Is there anything I could do or check to try and get the motor working? I'm new to all this but I'd really like to get it working! Thanks!

EDIT: Sorry, meant to post this in the walkman chat area!

Last edited: Jan 17, 2017
  2. Boodokhan

Boodokhan Well-Known Member

This post should be in walkman section. I think by mistake posted on boombox section
    Anyway, I think your TPS-L2 needs capacitor replacement.

3. T-ster

T-ster Moderator Staff Member S2G Supporter

Moved, this will get more input in the walkman tech section. Welcome to the forums Mack :biggrin:

4. mackle89

mackle89 New Member

Sorry for the mix up, thanks! A new capacitor? Is that something I can replace? Are capacitors for the TPS-L2 available?

5. Boodokhan

Boodokhan Well-Known Member

I am not sure whether or not you can replace capacitors. Obviously you need to have some experience on soldering and working on electronic boards.
    We have a member who ha a lot of knowledge about capacitors. see the following topic and see what "bub" recommended about TPS-L2 capacitors

What i mentioned about capacitors is my personal opinion and i am not an expert. Please see what other members recommend/ suggest.

We have some Professional members who can repair your walkman. I think you should get their idea as well.

6. bub

bub Active Member