1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi from Barcelona!

Discussion in 'Introducing myself' started by HiFi22stealth, Aug 29, 2017.

1. HiFi22stealth

HiFi22stealth New Member

Hi everyone!

I'm a 24-year old engineering student, 'wanna-be audiophile', as well as an SWL (ShortWave Listener, which although it's our 'official' designation, is not a very accurate term, as my listening activity as a radio hobbyist is not limited to shortwave, or what's the same, the 3-30MHz range... I like to look for signals all over the radio spectrum!). I've also been an aviation passionate for almost as long as I can remember, and in fact my radio hobby started when I was looking for a receiver to listen to aircraft communications!

I discovered this site through my co-citizen @walkman archive's excellent webpage, around the same time I registered to Tapeheads, before the summer... As this during this summer I've been dedicating more time to my radio hobby (due to spending quite a lot of time on holidays in the countryside, where reception is much, much better than in my usual location in the city, where the levels of RF noise and general 'electro-smog' are high, especially on the shortwave/HF bands, therefore ruining my reception of weak signals), I've not found the time to sign up here till now!

As for my story with tape and analog audio in general, and to avoid making this post very lengthy, I'll just link my introduction post at Tapeheads here, which is the one that became very long-winded, haha: http://www.tapeheads.net/showthread.php?t=57572